025 Hope

I woke and grasped for Den’s arm.

Theila is not dead!

“Nyl, you are delirious.”

I struggled to maintain mind-touch, which proved nearly impossible without Thee'. No, you said whatever I believed about Theila is true.

“You can't just raise her from the dead!”

She isn't dead. Whenever one of her kind comes of age, they remain as if dead for a fortnight and then emerge as adults.

“How do you know? We don't even know for certain whether you created her or not.”

We can pray that I am right. I lost mind-touch and did not know what he thought of my plan.

Before I fell back into slumber, I concentrated on the metamorphosis of Theila's body. Woethief taunted Nyl for such a vain effort, but eventually joined in because she lacked a better plan.

The activity of Denrick's mind woke me. I sat up, bleary-eyed. He leaned over Thee's ruined frame shivering with fever.

“Nyl says you will be reborn in an hour. I don't know if it is true, but either way I love you. You were the greatest friend I could ever ask for and you deserved a better life than the one you received.”

I couldn't drag my weak body over to Den, so instead I placed my hand on the shoulder of his mind.

She will rise. Woethief declared with optimism which she never before possessed.

“I know that she will rise when all worlds end, but I need her now.”

God is able to raise her now just as easily as he can then. Have faith.

“Faith in what? You or God?”

In God, of course. I am only His instrument.

“You must think I am dreadful for doubting God.”

I have doubts too, but he must be greater than our doubts. If we pray, he can overcome them.

“Then let us pray.”

We implored God to save our beloved Thee' with as much desperation as if we ourselves were dead. Indescribable moans escaped from Den's throat in his agony. Sweat soaked his back.

I wept.

All content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Please credit Nyla Woethief or Riley Duffield as the author when you share.