027 Den's Proposal

I LOVE YOU! His mind exploded with the feeling.

Den's weeping ceased and Thee' released him.

“Theila, is there anything you remember about me?” he asked.

She did not respond for some time.

The hostile mind wanted her to forget.

Thee' strove to remember.

Thee' won.

“You are my brother and you love me more than you love yourself. You were born three years after me,” the enemy mind added confusion.

Den frowned.

Thee’ massaged her temples.

“No, that isn't right. You were born a year before me.” She spoke aloud in Den's language with a singsong voice. “Your strength is unmatched, yet you are gentle. You adore me. You think I am the most wonderful creature in all of the universes. You must be right because you are so wise.”

She was not bragging or flattering him. She believed everything she said and thought nothing of the strangeness of her candor. “Am I correct?”

“Yes, in a way.”

Den leaned back against the cave wall. Fever still kept him weak. Fresh blood soaked his chest from a wound my treatment had missed.

“Den, why are you bleeding?”

“I took a few shots for you. I'll heal.” He grimaced as he thought it.

“Let me see.”

“No, Thee', I said I'll be fine.” His look told her that he wanted to remain strong, but we knew he was very sick.

Thee' began to speak, but I placed my hand on her shoulder. He wouldn't listen at that moment no matter what she said.

“Thee', I need to tell you something that will seem very strange.”

“I’m listening.”

She reclined on the wall opposite him.

“As you know, I am adopted. It is the custom of my birth-mother's people to... It's their custom to...”

She reached out and took his hands in hers. “You don't have to be afraid. You can tell me anything.”

Her smile gave him the courage to continue. “It is customary for an adopted son to marry the firstborn daughter of his new parents once she comes of age, so...”

“Den, what are you asking?”

“By the customs of my people you became mine when you came into existence, but I recognize we are not with my people. I love you. I know I don't deserve you, but will you marry me?”

“What?!?” she gasped.

“Will you marry me?

“To me, you've always been my brother. I always thought you would marry Nyla?”

“Marry Nyla? Why would you think that?”

“Why else would you spend five ventings in her service? You have almost died for her on many occasions. I thought you loved her.”

“I have served her because you wanted me to?”

Shock filled her. The enemy mind seemed pleased that she did not respond affectionately to Den.

“What is wrong with Nyla? Why not choose her over me?”

“Nothing is wrong with Nyla, but I love you!”

”“But she needs someone to love her,” the enemy mind prompted her to say.

“If she commanded me, then of course I would marry her.”

“Of course I will not command you to marry me,” I exclaimed. The idea repulsed me.

“You should command him,” the enemy whispered into me. “You deserve him after all your suffering.”

I fought to disregard the voice.

“I have nothing to offer you, Den. I am not very pretty and my race makes me repugnant to everyone in this world.”

I concealed my smirk with my hand. The very notion that she was not pretty was ridiculous. She couldn't be paralleled by any other woman.

“You're my everything, Theila. I live to please you. If I am distasteful, then say it. I wish you to be happy.”

Thee' fought the enemy will, but could not tear herself from its influence.

“I cannot love you, Den,” her words relieved me. Perhaps I had a chance at love. “It is not your fault, you are wonderful, It's just that I couldn't bear for you to suffer my feeble attempts at love. I am broken. I know I am capable of betrayal. I couldn't bear to cause you that pain. Nyla is the woman who can love you like you deserve.”

“Very well, sister. I will not force you to love me.”

I could not bear for Theila to separate herself from Den. In a last effort, I flung myself into the hostile mind. Energy drained from me in the combat, but I succeeded. The enemy withdrew.

Den turned away from Thee' with trembling lips and tears in his eyes.

“Wait! Den, I do love you. I want you. Am I truly desirable?”

“You cannot imagine of how perfect you are.”

She leaned her head on his shoulder and rested in his embrace. Their love blossomed as each yielded to the others wishes.

Den gently pushed her away and reached for something in his pocket.

“There is something very precious to me, which I kept for this day, but now I must return it to you.” He held out a sphere, larger and brighter than my own starlet.

“What is this?”

“Your star. For years one thousand generations my foremothers have passed it along. Now it has come to me. You were once the brightest star of all, but you were banished from your people for a kindness you performed to a peasant girl. They forbade you from interfering with the lives of mortals. You saved her life.”

“I don't remember any of this?”

“You will shortly, when I awaken you from your slumber. The girl you saved was my grandmother one thousand generations back. You entered a pact to marry her first male heir. I am the first male born to her line. I am the promised reward for your kindness.”

“How do you know this?”

“Through your power, I retain all of the knowledge of my foremothers. I am the personification of that oath. Will you accept your star?”

She touched it with a trembling finger. Light exploded around us as the orb hovered over Thee'.

“So this is the mortal body I was gifted?” the light asked disgustedly. “There is much wanting in her, but I suppose she will do.” The light focused on me. “And you are the creature she swore her allegiance to?”

“I am. I am sorry I disappoint you. If you desire, I will release you from your oath.”

“It is a tempting offer, but I cannot rescind my word. I must abide by this body's oaths.”

Dread filled her as she surveyed the world she must inhabit. With a muster of strength, she entered Thee's body. The transition caused her to collapse. I feared she was dead. Flames consumed her flesh.

“Thee' wake up. Please, don't leave me again.”

When he touched her, the fire singed his skin and nearly crippled him with pain.

“Please, Thee' answer me.”

He turned to me with horror on his face.

”'Thee'' is that the pet name you have for me?”

The flames stopped consuming him.

“Yes. If it displeased you, I will call you something else.”

“No, I like it. My star name is Sombermirth, but I am still your Thee'.”

He placed his hand on her cheek, but she shrieked and a blade emerged from her wrist.

“Stay away from me! Don't come any closer or I'll cut you.”

“Thee' what's wrong?” he asked, but already she had severed their mental bond.

He approached her with his palms up.

“Keep away. I don't want to hurt you,” she warned.

“Theila, what is wrong?” I placed my hand on her shoulder.

“You're one of them too. You said you loved me!”

I backed away.

“Theila, tell me what is wrong.”

“You're both Dark. You say you love me, but this is a trap. You want to kill me. Please, let me go. I haven't done anything to you.”

“I do not know what you are talking about.”

“The Unlight resides in both of you. The Unlight is poison. It will kill me.”

“I will not harm you. Please, you must speak to Den's mind. He must have an explanation.”

“I can't. He'll taint me. I'll lose my light.”

“He kept your star safe for his entire life. Speaking to him now will not harm you.”

“You don't understand. To lose my light is to lose my self, my essence.”

I hated to use my power over her, but for both her's and Den's sakes I deemed it necessary.

“Theila, I order you to speak to him.”

With great trepidation, she opened her mind to his. Terrified prayers issued from her soul.

“Den, why do you bear the Unlight?”

“You cannot hold me guilty for my race. My people are extinct. Every last one was slaughtered by the Darkish people, except for my mother. She became the Darkish king's concubine. She escaped her slavery with me in her womb. I possess unstar blood.”

“Then I cannot marry you. It is forbidden for both of our races. You know full well that we would each die at the others touch.”

“But we swore oaths.”

“Those oaths contradict the laws of our people. Though I am banished, I cannot disobey their edicts. I cannot love you, yet I cannot not love you.”

“Nyla, what must we do?”

“Why must I decide?”

“You are our mistress, Den and I look to you for guidance.”

“Please, don't make me choose.”

“You can make Den love you.” the enemy will whispered into my head.

No, it is not fair to him. It is not right.

“You decide what is right. You own them.”

I will not treat them as Gemma treated me.

“GET OUT OF MY HEAD!” I screamed as I pounded my palms against my temples.

“I only aim to help you. Do not throw away your chance at love. You deserve Den. After I stole Faithful from you, he is all you have left.”

Silver, please do not interfere.

“I'm trying to help.”

Well, you are not. Stay away from my friends.

“Don't make a decision you will regret for the rest of your lives.”

“Nyl, help!” Thee's cry ripped me out of the argument with Silver.

Den lay sprawled across the floor. Blood pooled below his torso. His pulse grew slower as I held my fingers against his neck.

“Save him, Woe.”

I cut away his shirt to find a rancid wound. Despite my best efforts, his bleeding did not slow.

“I cannot save him in time.”

“I'll bite him.”

“But, you could die.”

Before I could intervene, her tongues embedded into his wound. Her light faded. She became like death itself. Both of my friends flickered. They disappeared.

I threw myself on the ground where the were and groped wildly to find them.

“Den! Thee'! Where are you?”

I could not find them.

God, please, You cannot take them. Thee' has only just been returned to me.

“Make them love one another,” Silver suggested.

How will that help? You know nothing, Woe snapped at her.

“Please, listen to me. You can bring unity to them.”

And how can I do that?

Listen to her, Woe.

“Their natures are at war. The enmity of their peoples needn't be their enmity. You can give love to them as you gave love to Faithful and I. You gave him the help he needed to cherish me even after I told him who I was.”

Nyla forced Woe to acquiesce. When I concentrated on Denrick and Theila, their minds responded weakly to my probes. Despite her torment, Theila would not release Den. Her ferocious love clawed her way back into existence with her lover in her arms.

“Theila, I thought I lost you again!”

“Thank you,” she squeezed my hand. “I know now why Theila swore herself to you.”

She leaned against a column, exhausted. Her chest rose and fell rapidly as she strove to control her breathing. Den lay motionless, but alive, in her lap.

“I'm tainted, Woe. I was always the brightest, but now I barely flicker.”

She had taken on the attributes of her husband in addition to those she received from me. Black shocks of straight hair hung down the center of each ringlet. A faint, grey glow surrounded her. Firm muscles contrasted with her small stature.

“I lost everything I am to save him. My beauty and light are all but gone. I don't know who I am anymore.”

Den awakened. He pulled her against himself with his hands clasped at her stomach.

“Listen to me Theila,” he rested his head on her shoulder. “We have both lost what we were, but what we have become is better. Your light is gone as is my darkness, but we have each other.”

“What remains of me besides a broken mind split in two?”

“You are still truth and loyalty. You are still loved by God. You sacrificed yourself for me. I cannot forget that.”

She pulled herself away from him. Her loss tormented her. I wished I could remove it. Den's hands gripped her shoulders. He caused her to see through his eyes. Then she understood why he loved her.

He planted his lips on hers and cradled her head in his hands.

“I've wanted you for as long as I've lived! Now you are mine and no one will take you from me.”

“I am unworthy of you.”

“No, you are glorious. No one is more beautiful. I wouldn't change any part of you.”

“But I am not the girl you've loved for all these years. Sombermirth loves you, but do you love her? I am deformed, my two minds have not melded.”

“Sombermirth Theila, I love both your minds. You are mine. I bled to win you. Stop doubting yourselves.”

“But what if I fail you?”

“You will fail me and I will fail you. By God's power, we'll forgive. Tell me you promise to fight for our love until forever ends.”

“I promise, husband,” she sank her tongues into his neck, her own form of a kiss.

All content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Please credit Nyla Woethief or Riley Duffield as the author when you share.