029 Tshania

“So, this is the Woethief?” Natia observed. “I expected a stouter resistance. No matter, I'll have my fun with you another way.”

Den's muscles tensed and his fists balled up.

Do not even try; you cannot beat her, Woe warned.

“But I can die trying,” Den retorted as he picked the lock on his manacles.

And that is all you can do. Use your head. Diplomacy is the only way out, Nyl chastised him.

“You there,” Natia gestured at Theila. “What is your name?”

“I Thee'.”

“Thee'? Too pretty a name for a piece of Lacerator filth,” Den wanted to lay her flat her for that insult. “You, what is your name?” She pointed at Den.

“He mute,” Thee' answered for him.

“Silence, I didn't ask you, Natia knocked Theila to the ground with a blow to the face.

“Tshania,” Natia turned to a girl at her side, “find out who he is?”

Tshania seemed hesitant, but fear of Natia drove her to obey. When she placed her hand on Den's face to read his thoughts, she found his mind impermeable. Trembling seized her with the exertion.

Den spun her around and clamped his left hand around her furry throat. His other arm locked her wings behind her.

Abject terror filled her. Natia's priestesses held daggers to mine and Thee's throats.

“Is this supposed to impress me? Natia chuckled with her feet. “So you can pick locks. So you can subdue a girl half your size. She can destroy your mind with a thought.”

His grip around her throat tightened as he lessened the protection of his mind. Tshan took the opening, but found herself trapped by Den.

“Let them go,” Tshan spoke for Den. “And Tshania will be unharmed.

“Go ahead, kill her. Then you can listen to the screams of your lovers as I flog them to death.”

“Please, mother? Do not do this wickedness!” Tshan pleaded.

Natia snatched a whip from one of her servants and lashed me across the face. The shards of stone sewed into the end traced rivers of blood on my face.

Tshan's face grew darker as she fought for air.

“You see, boy, I cannot be reasoned with.”

Release her, I ordered Den.

“But then we lose our bargaining power.”

She isn't our enemy. It is Natia who should die.

Tshan had little time before her breath ran out.

“Show pity, Den. We are not like them,” Thee' pleaded.

Den released her throat, but not her arms. She gulped air like a starving man gulps blood. He drew a double-pistol from her belt. With two shots, he felled the priestesses who held Thee' and I. My starlet melted our bonds and surrounded Natia, but did not consume her. None of her soldiers or priestesses dared raise a claw in her defense.

Tshan wrested her mind from Den's hold and caused Den's arm to relax its grip. She prostrated herself before me. She placed my foot on her head.

“Your maidslave pleads for the life of her mother. Surely, you are not so pitiless as to rob me of her?”

I must defend my family, I spoke to her mind.

“Your slave swears her eternal and infinite service to you if you do this kindness. Let the flames consume my flesh in her stead. I am worthless, but my mother is worth everything to me.”

Can you guarantee safe conduct for me and my family?

“I swear by my mother, the great goddess Natia, that you will pass safely to wherever you desire.”

Your love is strong, Tshania, I will grant this request.

I released Natia.

“Get up,” Natia kicked her daughter in the side.

Tshan obeyed.

“You are a fool, Nyla. What makes you think I will honor your deal made with a child?”

“Have you no hon-or?”

“None, but I know that you will not harm me now. I have your oath.”

“Mother...”

“Do not call me mother! You are no child of mine. I am your goddes, worship me.”

“Your worshipfulness, I implore you to spare them. They have done you no wrong.

“Of course I won't spare them, you imbecile.”

Den and Thee' are of no value to you, allow them to escape, I opened my minds long enough to think to Natia.

“Yes, my goddess, allow them to escape. I will enter the Forges for a thousand years if you permit Den and Thee' to escape.”

“The Forges are too good for you, the Golden Death would better remedy your insurrection.”

“Of course, I will return to you made of solid silver and prove my innocence,” Tshan's fortitude astonished me.

“Den and Thee', you will be permitted to escape. Never return or a fate worse than you can imagine awaits you.”

Den wanted to scream that he would never leave me, but his dumbness prevented him. I kissed his voiceless lips and wiped a tear from his face.

Thank you for leading me to your God and listening over me all these ventings. You are the tenderest and strongest man I have ever known. I am proud to call you brother. I love you with all my hearts, Nyl and Woe thought in unison.

“I love you too, kid,” his arms, each nearly the diameter of my waist, wrapped around me with great affection.

I turned to Theila, her tongues sucked blood from my veins for a final time and we kissed.

Thank you for giving me your truth and your venom. You are the most beautiful creature I have ever known. Light still fills your soul and Den can see it. You are the best sister I never knew I needed. I love you with all of my hearts.

She kissed me again, You're beautiful too WoeNyl, thank you for giving up Den for me. I can't imagine how much that cost you.

While I held my sister, Tshan approached our minds. “She will kill you Nyla, are you sure you want it this way?”

Yes.

“What about Crystal?” Den asked.

“If you are willing, I can transfer her to Theila.”

What? How?

“I just can.”

How can a mother be asked to give up her only child? For all the tens of thousands of woes I stole, I never encountered this one. I loved Comfort and never wanted to part from her. I knew it was the only way to save her life.

I am willing, but only if Den and Thee' wish it.

“Of course we do,” they replied as one.

In an instant, Thee' became the surrogate mother of my child.

Farewell, Comfort Crystal, may you bring the same joy to your new mother as you did to me.

Natia interrupted our farewell.

“Of course, I cannot let you both escape as you are. I can't let you remember this life.”

She seized Thee's head and replaced all of her memories with false ones full of fear and loathing for Den. Along with her new mind, came a new body, lovely and dreadful.

A dark beauty loomed over me. Straight black hair spilled over her broad shoulders and lovely chest. Her cruel eyes pondered me without recognition. Den's desire for her in no way diminished, but she recoiled from his touch.

At Natia's gesture, a soldier clubbed the back of Thee's head. The giant collapsed into unconsciousness. Den's fist shattered the soldier's skull.

“Carry her away and never return.”

Den looked at me, pleading for another way.

Go!

He grabbed a crank-gun from the ground and backed out of the cave with his bride slung over one shoulder.

Tshan whimpered with her head on my bosom.

“I'm so sssorrry; I tried to help.”

“You have.”

I stole some of her grief, but if I stole any more, my hearts would overflow with sorrow. I prayed to God that my family would survive. I knew Natia would rescind her word, but it had been the only chance to save my loves.

It was not your only chance! Nyl chided. You let this monster survive while your family was in danger.

I cannot resist the opportunity to show compassion, Woe replied.

Not even at the expense of our brother and sister and daughter?

I am sorry.

YOU SHOULD BE!

I hated that I warred within ourself. How can two incompatible natures coexist in one body?

Natia tore Tshan away from me and leached all of her daughter's power from her.

“You were so promising,” remorse nibbled at the edges of Natia's words. “But no heir of mine will ever let their pity deafen them like yours has.”

Natia summoned one of her priestesses and transformed her into the likeness of her daughter. In addition, she bestowed all the power which once belonged to Tshania to the new creature.

“If you love the Woethief and her friends so dearly, then you will enjoy being like them.”

Tshania lost her batness and spiderness. Eyes sprouted from her skull and her ears diminished. The silken fur which covered her body receded and the webbing that formed her wings disappeared. Before me stood a creature which combined the best aspects of each member of my family. She was repugnant to her people, but to me she was lovely.

Without protest, she allowed herself to be bound and stumbled toward the Golden Death.

Your kindness will not be forgotten, daughter, I thought to her.

“And now, what shall be done with the Woethief?” Natia asked.

I remained silent.

“Bind her. she ordered.

Fear of my starlet overcame even the priestesses' fear of Natia. They dared not approach me.

“BIND HER!”

“No need. I come with no fight.”

“How can I trust you?”

How can she even ask that? Nyla thought.

“I keep word.”

“Very well, take her away.”

I followed the soldiers, who kept a safe distance between us, to the King's dungeon.

All content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International. Please credit Nyla Woethief or Riley Duffield as the author when you share.